Here at Hemsley Organics, all our skincare products are uniquely charged with Reiki energy which improves the efficacy of ingredients and supports your overall well-being. In this article, we will be breaking down the five key pillars of Reiki, and how you can incorporate them into your daily routine. 

What is Reiki?

Reiki originated in Japan in the 1900’s, and has long been regarded as a journey for self-healing, and self-development. Reiki is a form of energy healing, and is now practiced all over the world as a way to better our physical, mental, emotional and spiritual wellbeing. 

‘Reiki’, which stands for Universal Life Force Energy, has a primary purpose of healing and balancing all that it comes into contact with. Energy is all around us, it flows through us and everything in our path. In order to start our journey of healing, we must activate our Reiki, and connect with energy centres - which are also known as chakras or meridians. 

As Reiki is a form of energy healing, it involves using gentle hand movements. Many Reiki practitioners can guide energy around an individual's body to encourage self-healing.


What Are The Five Pillars Of Reiki?

1. Reiki And The Laying On Of Hands

When experiencing a Reiki treatment, the flow of energy can primarily be transmitted through the palms of the hands. The first pillar of Reiki, otherwise known as ‘the laying of hands’, refers to a practitioner using palm-healing or hands-on-healing, where they direct ‘universal energy’ in order to encourage balance and harmony, whether that be emotional, physical, mental or spiritual healing. 
pillars of reiki

2. Reiki And Intentions

The second pillar of Reiki is all about who performs your Reiki sessions. In order to experience all of the greatest benefits that come with practicing Reiki, it’s important that you have an experienced practitioner or master that you feel you connect with.  Here at Hemsley Organics, our Reiki Master and Co-founder, Georgina personally charges each product with reiki energy. This sets a direct intention, Georgina activates the Reiki healing practice to enhance the vibrational energy of every product. Re-balancing the energies of the plant-based extractions from undergoing the manufacturing process to bring a product that is in its purest energetical state, as nature intended. Channelling the reiki, this holistic ritual takes around 10-15 minutes each time. 

3. Reiki Symbols And Mantras

The third pillar of Reiki is all about the symbols and mantras that come with the practice. In order to expand on all the possibilities that Reiki holds, it’s important that we pay special attention to the symbols and mantras. Reiki symbols are an aspect of the healing modality that helps us to garner inherent truths without selves and others. Not only are they tools which help us develop a one-pointed mind, but they also direct energy and allow us to create a heart-mind harmony. However, it’s important to note that Reiki symbols are sacred aspects of the practice, and are only meant to be used by Reiki practitioners or masters. 

4. Reiki Meditations And Spiritual Exercises

Reiki focuses on promoting relaxation, reducing stress and anxiety, and harnessing a positive mental state. Naturally, meditation and other spiritual exercises find a place in this practice. Reiki puts an emphasis on certain forms of mediation such as breathing techniques - making it the fourth pillar.

5. Reiki, Reiju & Attunements

Reiki is all about living in the moment, and fully engaging in what you are currently doing. The Reiki rules of life or, gokai 五戒, are the philosophical foundation of the Reiki healing method, and the fifth and final pillar. 

According to Reiki teaching, we should follow attunements, initiations, and Reiju are all sacred rituals that set Reiki apart from other healing processes. The ability to do Reiki is passed from the Reiki master to the student, during the initiation ceremony - this connects the student deeply to the energy of the universe. 


What Hemsley Organics Customers, Industry Experts & Reiki Masters have to say...

Leave a comment

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published.